top of page
Search

Grand Designs

Reminding you that you were created on purpose, for a purpose.

Ever watched the show?


No? Allow me to fill you in. This guy Kevin McLoud, meets (fairly) affluent couples and tracks their quest to architect their very own Grand Design; from the ground up. These projects take years and we watch eagerly as Kevin drops in every now and then to check on progress. Until finally, at the end of the show, we see the finished home. Complete with running water, fitted kitchen, soft furnishings, the works!


I may have seriously undersold this show but I urge you to watch an episode. It may give you house envy (like me) but give it try!

 

Now, I’m no Kevin McLoud but I can appreciate the beauty in a building. The subtleties in its structure, the intricacies in its interior. I think of palaces, cathedrals, the Taj Mahal, the Sistine Chapel. How grand they are in their appearances, they are unapologetically extra, and well cared for behind the scenes. I think about the endless hours of sketching, re sketching, building and adjusting that has gone into creations such as these.

Whilst reflecting recently, God reminded that I am not much different. I, Georgia, am a Grand Design. I’ve been designed by Him, the ultimate Creator. There is an architect of my life if you like (let’s go with this metaphor) but that I am its Project Manager.


As someone who follows Jesus, and who centres her life around becoming more like him, I am told that I am “fearfully and wonderfully made”. That I am “knitted together”, hemmed in behind and before”. I am told that I am “chosen, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a special possession.” These aren’t just whimsical words like ones I might say about myself, they are truths. More than that they are truths that I have read a million times before.


Disclaimer: I believe these truths to be true of you too - whoever you may be and whoever you may be ‘following’. You are divinely designed. Not a mistake and not here by chance but hand crafted and carefully considered.


These truths I’ve just mentioned are written to encourage me & build me as Georgia. So why is it that I am often still feeling like a not-so-grand design?

The Persian poet Hafiz once said: “The words you speak become the house you live in”.

You might not admit it but I can guarantee there is not a day that goes by where you don’t talk to yourself. Audibly or otherwise. I have so much to do today, why was I so lazy at the weekend? How could I be so horrible as to forget that birthday? Is that what I look like in these jeans? My friend hasn’t texted me today I must be worthless right? The list, I am sure, goes on. And probably less PG than this.


Honestly, I wouldn’t want people hearing the words I say to myself sometimes either, maybe you feel the same. But the reality is, what we say about ourselves, it stays with us. We might like to think it’s water off a ducks back, we’re just kidding, but we’re not. These words become our bricks and mortar.

So, I suppose a good question to ask at this point would be: If words were building your house, like Hafiz suggests, how are you looking?

What do you say about yourself, to yourself?


Take a moment.

 

Maybe you feel like a stately home, sat up acres of land with a library, a parlour and several sizes of chandelier. Or perhaps you feel like more of a derelict building; windows boarded, a blanket of dust forming…

Maybe you are neither. Maybe, your house is looking good, great in fact! But there’s leak in the ceiling that’s been there a while… oh and the door handle has been sticking for a couple of years…

The reality is, we are all a city of ‘houses in progress’. With all metaphors aside, we all have things about our social, physical, mental or spiritual lives that we’d rather put off taking care of. But if we were to truly look into ourselves (and maybe talk it through with a friend or someone we trust) what repairs could we start to make?

Like I said before, in the TV show, these Grand Designs span years! It’s the same for you and I, this work is our entire lifetime.


I hear you say to me: Georgia, what am I supposed to do? Where do I start? The truth is I’m no expert, but I am learning. Perhaps we can do it together.


I said before that for me, God is the architect of my life. I don’t know where you might stand with that notion, but stay with me. I believe we’re all the same in this way; we are all our own Project Managers no matter what we believe. We’re invited to take charge, to direct the workers, to develop the design and to understand the cost.


One thing I have always noticed about ‘Grand Designs’ is these people have some serious cash! No wonder, to create how they do, it is always at a cost. It’s the same for you and I, to change the way we speak about ourselves, to ultimately change the house we’re building for ourselves to live in, it will cost something. Maybe it will cost a Netflix subscription, maybe it will cost you to unfollow that person on Instagram, maybe it will cost you a friendship.

Costs aside, there is still an incredible opportunity for us, to develop our designs and become the people we feel called to become. My favourite part of the show is right at the end. Kevin comes back and re-visits the project, it is more-or-less finished. I love watching the couples give him tour of their Grand Design, celebrating all the details they discussed years ago. Details that became reality because of decisions they made. I am so excited to look back at my twenties when I reach my thirties and celebrate my Grand Design. All because I made good choices about what to say over myself!

So, some tips for living like the Grand Design you are:

Real-talk, I sat here for a while trying to think of the ‘magic 3 points’ that would nicely round off what I want to say to you (and me). But truthfully, we can only start from where we’re at. So let’s start here.


  1. Remember, YOU are the Project Manager. You decide what gets the go-ahead, and what gets cut. Only you. I read a passage of the Bible again recently that I think better captures what I’m trying to say here: “We capture rebellious thoughts and teach them to obey Christ.” — 2 Corinthians 10v5 (NLT)

Ideas to help you:

Try out — Maybe write a gratitude list, speak your own thankfulness over your life. Or, Maybe write down your honest, unfiltered words. The ones you wouldn’t want anyone to see. Counteract them with the truth (ask a friend / someone you trust to help with the truths).

Reach out — Life is better when done alongside others. Be brave. Speak to a friend or a mentor. Walk together, learn together. Maybe you want to reach out to a service, or a professional. That’s great! Walk in wisdom, get advice, look around for someone you might be able to connect with.

Speak out — There is nothing more glorious than when we verbally tell ourselves that we love us! If you like how you look, tell yourself. If you’re proud of your work, say it! If somebody compliments you, you guessed it!

I hope this leaves you feeling encouraged. I hope you know that you are a special, unique, one-of-a-kind Grand Design and that you start using words over yourself that build you that way.

“You realise, don’t you, that you are the temple of God, and God himself is present in you? No one will get by with vandalising God’s temple, you can be sure of that. God’s temple is sacred—and you, remember, are the temple.” — 1 Corinthians 3v16 (MSG)

Love, Georgia. X

118 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page